Nutrition and Hospitality Management

School of Applied Sciences, University of Mississippi

Hospitality Management Advisory Board

The Hospitality Management Program in the Department of Nutrition and Hospitality Management has established numerous and lasting professional business relationships with industry professionals locally, regionally, and nationally. The purpose of the Hospitality Management Advisory Board is to support the mission and objectives of the Hospitality Management Program.

Since the initial development of Advisory Board, it has met with industry professionals at least once a year to advise the program director and faculty on matters of curriculum, industry trends, and professional issues relevant to the hospitality profession and program’s accreditation. The Faculty Advisory Board also supports the program in various manners throughout the academic year, and its members, along with other hospitality professionals, routinely speak to hospitality management classes.

HM Faculty Advisory Board Members:

Mr. Bernard Bean
Chief Operating Officer
Eat With Us Group
P.O. Box 1368
Columbus, MS 39703
bbean@eatwithus.com

Ms. Gaye Bukur
General Manager
Inn at Ole Miss
Alumni Drive
University, MS 38677
gaye@olemiss.edu

Mr. Scott Caradine
Owner
Proud Larry’s
211 South Lamar Blvd.
Oxford, MS 38655
scott@proudlarrys.com

Mrs. Mary Allyn Hedges
Director
Visit Oxford
1013 W. Jackson Ave.
Oxford, MS 38655
maryallyn@visitoxfordms.com

Mr. Jim O’Brian
Regional Operations Director
Valor Hospitality Partners
8700 Trail Lake Drive, Suite 300
Memphis, TN 38125
jobrien@valorhospitality.com

Mr. Chan Patel
Owner
Hampton Inn/Holiday Inn Express/Towne Place Suites
W. Jackson Ave
Oxford, MS 38655
chan@chanpatel.com

Mr. Jason Phillips
Food Service Director
Aramark (UM Foodservice)
Room 109B, Johnson Commons
University, MS 38677
phillips-jason@aramark.com

Mr. Lance Reed
Owner
Chick-Fil-A
West Jackson Avenue
Oxford, MS 38655
west.jackson.avenue.fsu@chick-fil-a.com

Mr. Andrew Smith
Owner
McDonald’s Restaurants
1900 University Ave
Oxford, MS 38655
andrew.smith@partners.mcd.com

Mrs. Betsy Smith
Owner
McDonald’s Restaurants
1900 University Ave
Oxford, MS 38655
betsycsmith@me.com

Mr. Jim Strong
President
Strong Travel
8235 Douglas Ave Suite 1040
Dallas, TX 75225
jim@strongtavel.com

Ms. Beth Williams
General Manager
The Alluvian Hotel
318 Howard Street
Greenwood, MS 38930
bwilliams@thealluvian.com

For more information on the Hospitality Management Program’s Faculty Advisory Board, contact Dr. Mary G. Roseman (mroseman@olemiss.edu)